12
Jan
10

The summary of “Not Poor, Just Broke”

The story “Not Poor, Just Broke” is a short story with only 3 pages, but meaningful and it was written by Dick Gregory. This story tells of Richard who felt sorry and ashamed to himself when he was 7 years old as a result of discrimination and poverty. In the story Richard was in love with a little girl named Helene Tucker, a light-completed little girl with pigtails and nice manners. She was always clean and she was smart in school. He loved her for her goodness, her cleanness, and her popularity. Because of love made Richard become a nice boy. He brushed his hair and always had an old lady’s handkerchief in his pocket because he didn’t want Helene see him wipe his nose on his hand and he cleaned his clothes everyday.

Richard always struggled in his life. When there was no water in the house, he scooped out some chopped ice and let it melt to get water for washing his socks and his only clothes. In order to stop his hunger, he ate paste sometimes. Plus, he shined shoes and sold papers so he had enough money to by himself a daddy on the Negro Payday. Because he didn’t want anybody know that he didn’t have a daddy. So he did hard work to get money to donate on that day. However, what the teacher did towards him was not good. This is because she seemed to ignore him and thought he was an idiot and a troublemaker, couldn’t spell, read or do arithmetic. But teachers were never interested in finding the reason why Richard couldn’t concentrate on the lessons. Furthermore, she did not accept his money, and she said, “We are collecting this money for you and your kind, Richard Gregory. If your daddy can give fifteen dollars you have no business being on relief.” Then she added, “We know you don’t have a Daddy.” Because of the teacher’s careless speech made Richard felt ashamed with everyone in class, then he walked out of school that day, and for a long time he couldn’t go back very often.

After that day, he thought that the whole world had been inside the classroom, everyone had heard what teacher had said and they had turned around and felt sorry for him. He was ashamed in going to the Worthy Boys Annual Christmas Dinner, in wearing the brown and orange and white plaid mackinaw. There was shame on running over Mister Ben’s at the end of the day and asking for his rotten peaches, there was shame in asking Mrs. Simmoms for a spoonful of sugar, and there was shame in running out to meet the relief truck. At the end, there were many shames for him after everyone knew that he didn’t have a Daddy.


27 Responses to “The summary of “Not Poor, Just Broke””


  1. January 12, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I was the one who prepared and presented the summary of “Not Poor, Just Broke!” to all my audiences when I was studying in year 2 at IFL (2008-2009). At that time, I tried to find the document that related to this short story, but I couldn’t. So, today I decided to post my own summary in my own blog and I hope that it can be helped to give some concepts to everyone who need it.

    I’m looking forward to help you all when you need me.

    Lak

    • 2 Sokun
      September 14, 2011 at 12:30 pm

      Hi , i am also a IFL student and also have duty on this story (making poster and presentation). But the requirement of my lecturer are not only summary but also find out the theme, symbol, setting, characters, moral value, ect. Hmm…but my lecturer said that A story summary is only 4 or 5 sentences, that’s my problem. Especially the meaning of the title “Not poor, just broke” is the main problem! Hope u can help me.

    • 3 CHEA Panhavon
      September 16, 2011 at 6:14 am

      Thanks for your Posting, It must be helpful for my study as I am studying at IFL, Year II.

    • 4 Raclide
      October 15, 2011 at 3:21 pm

      Cool Vorlak.
      My name Raclide..! Now m in year 2 at IFL this year. My presentation is about this story and i couldn’t find the document too. For the picture to make a poster, i can’t find it too. Can u give me some suggestion or your experience?

    • 5 chheng Chomroeun
      October 29, 2012 at 6:37 am

      what’s the main purpose of this story and can u explain me clearly about quote in this?

    • October 12, 2013 at 2:27 am

      Thank for your kindness. I am also an IFL student in year 2 (2013-2014) and i have to do the poster presentation relate to this topic either . Plus, i really appreciate of your kindness and helpful to pass your experience to the next generation like us.

      • October 12, 2013 at 5:06 am

        You are very welcome. I hope my post could help you and your group. Wishing you to succeed in your academic year.
        Best regards,
        Lak

  2. 9 Moon River
    October 3, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    I found it really useful here… I am also a year 2 student at IFl, so it is now my turn to deal with this story

  3. 11 jarviz
    October 12, 2011 at 4:51 am

    i now study at year 4, but ma friends need this for this work, if you have some docs regarding this, could you please send them to me? you may send to cheatitchamnar@gmail.com

  4. 12 danny
    October 25, 2011 at 10:22 am

    lolz you help me a lot :D thanks

  5. 13 Soklin
    November 1, 2011 at 7:02 am

    Can you tell me how to judgement and value the character in story?

  6. 14 Soklin
    November 1, 2011 at 7:04 am

    How to analysis the character? I dont know how to do it.

  7. 17 Nary
    October 13, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Million Thz Q Leak :)

    • October 18, 2012 at 7:37 am

      That’s my pleasure. ;)
      And for analyze the character of the ” Not poor, just broke”
      I’m really sorry, for I have left this lesson for 3 or 4 years already,
      So I couldn’t remember.
      Sorry that I can’t do it for you Nary.

  8. 19 Paris
    December 12, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    Haha here is IFL family ,lol

  9. April 30, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    I enjoy the efforts you have put in this, appreciate it for all the great posts.

  10. July 20, 2013 at 4:40 am

    We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community.

    Your website offered us with helpful info to work on. You’ve done an impressive job and our whole neighborhood will be thankful to you.

  11. 24 marisa
    October 20, 2013 at 5:47 am

    Thank you for your kindness…it helps me a lot within my poster and presentation!

  12. 26 neath
    October 28, 2013 at 8:27 am

    Thank You ^^


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

